Things are lovely…repeat as necessary.

writing my heart out about living from our hearts

Tell Me There’s A Path

leave a comment »

I will be in various stages of vacation with Brigit and my folks from August 9 thru 20.  During that time, I will be in and out of the cellular and wifi world, mostly out of it.  What I have to offer for this time are excerpts from my journal.  They are posted in random order, not cleaned up too much and exist in varying stages of relevance to my actual situation.  I chose them because they contain interesting kernels I might flesh out later.  Please feel free to carry on the conversation without me and I’ll check in when I can.  From the heart, Shannon.

Figuring out who I am has got to be the oddest journey I have been on yet.  At a time when most of my friends have rocked their careers into shape for their mid-life, I am just poking my head out of the gopher hole.  You know the naked in a dream feeling?  That’s how I feel all day long.  It is an interesting place to be at my age, because I do have the benefit of 20 some odd years of refining my tastes and knowing my strengths and yucky places.  I’m a little more  immune to impulses.  I’m too old and slow to catch any bandwagon that might come near me anyway.
So, who is Shannon? What does she do for a living?  What does she like to do in her spare time?  What kind of clothes does she wear?  What music does she listen to, books does she read?  Does she do anything besides sit at that computer all day?
This is going to be a matter of listening to my soul.  It’s going to require awareness on my part and so critical thinking.  I’m going to have to pay attention to the people I meet and listen to what they have to say.  I am going to definitely remember where I am from, and stay grounded in the friendships that are most important to me.


I’m tuning in
, showing up, staying awake as I find my way along here.  My way and my timing and my style is evolving and will show me soon enough who this new Shannon is going to be.

Written by Shannon Udell

August 18, 2010 at 5:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

