Things are lovely…repeat as necessary.

writing my heart out about living from our hearts

One Month

leave a comment »

I have lived for 1/12 of a year away from my husband, daughters, puppies, friends.  I’ve transitioned from “Why is this happening to me?” to “You do what you need to do and I’ll do what I need to do.”  Now, I’m doing it.

I have lived 1/12 of a year in a new town full of beautiful people and places.  I just realized that I’ve been taking photos of my adventures all month, but never getting past uploading them.  So here’s a little show and tell.

One of the first things I committed to was walking.  It makes me feel more connected to myself and pulls back those tendrils of attachment that are always reaching into the past.  Most of the walking surface here is highway with narrow shoulders but I found a circuit I like that’s a mile and a half.  I walk it twice a day.

For years, my dad has played an open mic night at the Black Cat in Pengrove.  I went along with him and had a great night.  The bar will change ownership soon and the nights will be coming to and end, but I love the encouragement given by the owner, ”You’ve seen how this works and how to get people together to be subversive, go out and fuck shit up!”

My youngest daughter Brigit came to visit for a week.  She is half of the duo of lovelies that keep me interested in breathing.  In fact, I’m with them both today!

We went walkabout.


We shot guns.


We went to Fort Bragg.

Mom took me to Cloverdale to make sack lunches for the hungry.

Dad and I canoed Lake Sonoma.

And so now it’s August.  More life, love, yoga, audacity and story to come.

Written by Shannon Udell

August 2, 2010 at 5:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

