Things are lovely…repeat as necessary.

writing my heart out about living from our hearts

Beauty

with one comment

Where am I?  Someplace beautiful.  Sonoma County is one of those spots that God really took some time crafting.  My goal today is to link my flickr here so I can share the scenery that’s going to inspire me for a while.  In the book by Rollo May, My Quest For Beauty, the author talks about how being surrounded by beauty and allowing it into his soul lifted him from an almost paralyzing time of depression and confusion.  This is what I’m after.

It is still so surreal to be here and to be in the situation that brought me here.  My mind is cottony with trying to process it all.  It’s just too much.  I’ve moved away to a place that is a paradise, my life is scattered in boxes through a home that never designed to house me.  My parents are living their lives and trying to process incorporating mine.  Here’s the kicker – I have no control over any of these situations.  I mean, I control my choices, but I don’t have “Mom Control” that sense of omnipotence that comes from having the final say no matter what.

Much of my time is spent standing around with my hand at my sides, waiting for someone to help me or give me direction.  Where is this, may I use that, these are not the words of the keeper of the keys.  I’m slowing down.  I might possibly be lightening up, though it’s way too early to tell.  Beauty is my fall back.  When ever I have to stop and wait, when I’m stuck and standing still, there is always a window and outside that window is a mountain or a vineyard or some blooming thing.  Quiet spaces are developing inside me where I can take the time to fill up.

Beauty is going to save me.

Written by Shannon Udell

July 3, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If things feel out of your control, don’t fight it. Let go and let Someone else take over – relax and see where He takes you. I know that I am not in control of my situation right but I know that the One who is is much better at it than I would be. Listen to the voice inside you and follow that voice.

    Auntie

    July 3, 2010 at 7:43 pm


Leave a Reply

